Showing posts with label menu. Show all posts
Showing posts with label menu. Show all posts

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Weekly Menu 1/24

Here goes...

Monday - Pot Roast and Just Like Stuffed Baked Potatoes

Tuesday - Pork Roast, Sauteed Apples, and Oven Roasted Green Beans

Wednesday - Turkey Burgers (no bun) with Sweet Potato Fries and Pickles

Thursday - Cheesy Ham and Cauliflower Casserole with a green salad

Friday - Rachael Rays Chicago Dog Salad

Saturday - Salisbury Steak and Swiss Veggie Medley

Sunday - leftovers

Plan on trying my hand at kale chips, will let you know how they turn out.

Monday, January 10, 2011

Planning Pros

So you see my weekly menu in my previous post and may wonder why does she do that or how do I come up with my menus?

My menus come from meals we may have eaten before that got rave reviews. Meals must be pretty quick to make such as a whole chicken. You season the chicken, throw it in a Reynolds oven bag and let the oven do the rest. Lately I have been making lean and green meals, those not heavily carb laden. I try to make a list of those recipes we really enjoyed and then go off that. Those recipes may have come from various websites, cookbooks, foodie tv shows, or even something I made up in my head. Tonights taco salad came from the fact we like tacos. I didn't want the shell so I turned them into a salad. I browned the meat with black beans and onion, added cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper. Chopped up tomatoes and lettuce, shredded some cheese; put all ingredients on the table and let each person assemble their own. I also made guacamole as a side. A full meal was created in no time plus I made 2 lbs of ground beef so I froze the rest for a later meal.

Next the weekly menu. Planning is key in so many aspects:

A) It keeps me from eating out 90% of the time. I control what goes into my meal. Hello much healthier.

B) I spend less at the grocery store. After I make my menu I make my grocery list and tend not to deviate from the list while at the store. (Remember not to go on an empty stomach or bring your kids)

C) Weekday madness no more. I always know what is going to be made and if something needs to get defrosted I can take it out of the freezer that morning or day before depending on thaw time.

D) I sometimes bring coupons so I can go through my coupons real quick and grab those which may be needed.

E) It keeps me on my healthy eating plan. No unnecessary evils tempting me.

If I don't get to a meal on the plan I save it for the next week.

Give it a shot and let me know how it goes.

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Stuff

Its been awhile I know. First and foremost I am PreMSing this week so I have like a 2 pound gain. Yuck!!

Last night I binged on peanut butter kandykakes (4) and Sun Chips and a real coke, which I never drink ever!!! So why because I thought I needed it. Like somehow it would solve my problems. Listen to me food being ingested into your body never solves any problems. I don't have any major problems right now. Just that I thought my body was telling me it wanted junk. So I ate it just because. Rant over.

My workouts have been excellent. Evidence seen here in photos A and B.




Wow that gray looks terrible!!
iPhone says walk but it was my run/walk combo intervals of 2:1

Today I did my intervals on the treadmill and watched Full House while doing so. Hey I grew up with that show, what do you want from me. The only aspect of it I despise is that its on TeenNick. Too much teenage hoopla on that channel.

Tomorrow I am doing my Yoga video and walking a couple miles. Will let you know what I think of Jillian and Yoga. It kind of seems like an oxymoron to me the words "Jillian" and "yoga".

Food today
B-one egg, one white, slice of lite whole wheat w/ tbsp PB, coffee
L-McDonalds grilled ceasar salad, apples no caramel and iced coffee w/ equal (keepin it real with MickeyD's - I have kids)
S-yoplait apple turnover yogurt
D-leftover sauteed zukes, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and mushrooms along with one serving Meatza Pizza
S-weight watchers fudge bar
96 oz of water

Meatza Pizza you ask? here you go...

1-2 lbs extra lean ground beef or turkey (depends on the size pan you are using)
2 eggs
Tomato Paste/Tomoto Sauce(watch the grams of sugar - keep it low, less than 3 g)---> I use regular spaghetti sauce 4g carb
No-fat cheese - chedder & mozerella (or low-fat)
Veggie/Canadian bacon toppings

Brown the meat in a skillet. Don't overcook it. Take it just past the pink stage.
Drain the grease off. Put in casserole dish and let cool.
Add two eggs, some cheese and mash it all around and then pack it down tight.
Mix up a sauce to the consistancy of your liking. Use a small can of tomato paste (6 oz?) and add tomato sauce. Sprinkle in some oregano. Spread it over the meat "crust."
Sprinkle some cheese over the meat and then add your favorite toppings such as:
canadian bacon
onions
green (bell) peppers
zuchinni
"green" tomatoes (they stay firm and taste great!)
mushrooms
olives
Add some more cheese
Cook at 350 until cheese melts - about 40-45 minutes.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Yada Yada Yada

Love that line from Seinfeld.

I realized I hadn't updated in awhile and don't want to let it fall by the wayside.

This past weekend we went camping at the Jersey Shore, well forget the exercise and food choices were ok could have been a little better (ahem carrot cheesecake). It was blazing hot. Friday was bearable and so we headed to the beach. Glad we did because Saturday the Garden State Pkwy was jammed and it was soooooo Hot!!!! We are talking heat and humidity. That day we went to a nice seafood restaurant for lunch and then just hung out the rest of the day in the air conditioned camper. The mosquitoes were terrible too. So what did I learn from this experience 1.) to get even remotely close to a beach at a campground make reservations WAAAY in advance 2.) the shore on the weekends is a mob scene 3.) Living so close to Jersey we could make it a day trip and get our fill of the boardwalk and sand. All in all the kids had fun, I think?, and thats what matters.

Yesterday my eating was back on plan and so was exercise.

Food included
Breakfast
-2 egg omelette w/ slice of Naturally SLender American, coffee

Lunch
-green salad w/ turkey, 2% shredded cheddar, cukes, a pickle spear and apple w/ PB

Snack
-Chobani Raspberry greek yogurt

Dinner
-hamburger patty, roasted butternut squash, and a green salad (oh and maybe a hot dog too)

Snack
-donut from our local fair (so yummy)

Exercise was running/walking Intervals for 52 minutes.

I did forget to weight today and will do so first thing in the morning.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Goody New Shoes




So after doing 10-20 miles of running a week since the beginning of January with a break in June I have decided its time for new running sneakers. I usually run 3x a week alternating with the Shred (which I hope to finally accomplish this time around. )

First indicator was just mileage which I had put on them already and it had roughly been 6 months since I bought my first pair.

Second sign was the pain I was experiencing in my legs. I buy the Brooks Adrenaline 9 mainly for the purpose of my plantar fascitis. The sneaks really help to relieve the heel pain I start to feel post long running. My calves would also end up getting very sore.

Third, well there is no real third but it sounds more convincing in 3's. I could use the excuse I was dying for a new color, which is semi-true. So we will just leave it at that.

Today I still need to do my 30 Day Shred Level 1 Day 5 workout.

Food today has been

Breakfast
3 scrambled eggs w/ ketchup
Coffee with half and half

Lunch
Cup of egg salad on bed of greens

Snack
Half of a medium latte w/ 3 splenda
Raisin Bran muffin

Dinner
Taco Salad (ground beef, lettuce, tomato, 2% shredded cheddar, and salsa)
Half cup refried black beans
Half of a mango

Monday, July 12, 2010

Family Integration

Title makes sense right. I have 2 kids and I know some day I will update my profile to show just that. Anyway trying to lose weight when you have a husband and kids to feed can be somewhat of a challenge. Do you make them eat what you eat or do you cook separate meals? Personally I think it depends on what plan you follow. When I first started my weight loss journey I did South Beach to the T (or is it tee?). It was the best plan that I thought I could adhere as a lifestyle change and not just a diet. It allowed me to make foods that were not only good for me but my family as well. I still buy my kids the junk as an occasional treat but I have learned along the way to stay away! Its a journey with lessons to be learned.

As for the exercise, thats a no brainer. "kids", I tell them, "I am working out...don't bother me until I am done." In reply I get the "ok". My kids are 8 and 9 (soon to be 10) so they are old enough to know thats my time to be healthy. THey are usually in school when I get my workout in so its not much of an issue. Its summer time when I really have to plan around their tennis lessons or vacations.

I don't have beautiful pictures of my food the make your mouth water but my menu for today is as follows

Breakfast - 2 egg omelette with spinach, mushrooms and slice of Land O Lakes Naturally Slender / Coffee

L-Leftover asian lettuce wraps in a bowl (bibb lettuce, cabbage, red and green pepper, chicken) with a side of spinach from this morning

S-fage yogurt w/ honey, cinnamon, and vanilla with an iced coffee

D-4 meatballs, 2 oz whole wheat pasta, and a green salad

S-sugar free pudding or healthy choice fudge pop

Exercise - 30 Day Shred Level 1 Day 3

ETA: Last Tuesday I weighed in at 208.2. Weight today was 204.0. Not shabby.


ETAA: The whole kids and exercise thing, why not exercise with the kids as well. I do that and forgot to even mention that. Tag, hiking, biking, walking, and swimming are a few just off the top of my head. Not only does it make you active but the kids as well and its great bonding time as well. I mean every workout isn't always about sweating your brains out.